Better weight loss through electronics

How, oh how, did we ever survive, not to mention lose weight, without electricity?

Last evening my plan was to ride my bike on the trainer.  Fortunately I had put a new battery in the heart rate strap to my Garmin Edge just a couple of days before.

But it was not to be.

I got all dressed up in my super cool riding regalia and went downstairs to get all of my essential accoutrement.  Alas, my Garmin was still plugged into the computer which was not on.  Not charged.  Dead as a doornail.  (What is a doornail?)

Dammit.

But no problem.  I obviously cannot ride a bicycle without getting all the essential information like heart rate and cadence. That would never work, I’ll just use my really nifty stairmaster, just like the pros.  What pros, you may ask?  Damned if I know.

So I go back upstairs to change into the appropriate stairmaster attire.   I cannot do a stairmaster cardio workout in cycling shorts.  That would just be wrong.

Plus I must swap heart rate monitor straps from the Garmin one to the bluetooth one to go with my super cool and nifty Android tablet.  Said tablet also has all of my audio workouts for which I use my amazing bluetooth earphones.

Dammit.  I didn’t plug the earphones into the charger.  I will actually have to BE ATTACHED TO MY TABLET BY A WIRE.  The shame.

I did my cardio on my amazing electric device and said workout statistics were recorded by both said device and my tablet through endomondo which sent said statistics to My Fitness Pal.  Amazing.

Wait.  Every device is giving me different statistics.

Dammit.

Hey.  This morning I will check my weight to see if my cool workout resulted in an increased muscle mass and decreased fat.  Dammit.  The battery in my scale is dead.

How did the pioneers get in shape anyway?

~ by susancyclist on January 24, 2013.

2 Responses to “Better weight loss through electronics”

  1. Yeah, how did we get by before everyone had cell phones (now smart phones, a trend I have to date managed to buck), gadgets, gizmos, and widgets?

    What were we doing? Blog posting?

Leave a Reply

 
