To bike mechanics everywhere

During yesterday’s ride, when applying my brakes, I heard that sound.  The one similar to nails on a blackboard.  The one that says I have a little road grit embedded in a brake pad.

This is no big deal.  Just pop off the wheel, hit the pads with a little sandpaper, clean the braking surface, and all is good.

It was the front wheel and just took a minute.  So I decided to clean the rear wheel while I was at it.

I pulled.  I pried.  I cussed.  I could not open the quick release.

In addition to being female, I have little, short, stubby fingers.  I have no leverage there.  So this isn’t a new problem for me.  But this was beyond the pale.  Gargantua and Godzilla got together to close this release.

Finally, I got a long screwdriver. I sat on the floor, hooked the screwdriver behind the lever, braced my feet on the frame, and pulled.  The bike went one way, I went the other.  It was open.

Now I realize that a wheel needs to be secure to the frame, but really guys.  Look at your customer.  This was the rear wheel to boot.  It would take a lot for it to drop out.  If I had been out on the road and had a rear wheel flat, I would have been in a world of trouble.

So PLEASE, bike mechanics.  Be kind.

~ by susancyclist on October 8, 2012.

2 Responses to “To bike mechanics everywhere”

  1. As a former bike shop guy, I know exactly what you are saying. I have relatively strong hands, but I’ve had quick releases come to me so tight I thought Magilla Gorilla had installed the wheel.

    Yes, it needs to not fall out. If this is in a modern bike, the rear wheel usually has a hard time falling out.

  2. It’s an 05 Giant OCR C3, so modern enough. And on my, and I think most modern frames, the rear dropout is slightly angled. Plus there is the derailleur, etc. Sometimes it’s a pain to get in and out when the QR is released.

Leave a Reply

 
