Baby, it’s cold outside

so I stayed in and did some cooking.

For lunch I made the Baked Egg recipe, a favorite from the book, The Pleasures of Cooking for One by Judith Jones.  I’ve made this one many times so there were no surprises.

Two eggs baked on a bed of zucchini with mushrooms and shallots

I generally do not care for green tea.  But at mid afternoon I took a shot ar a Mint Tea made with gunpowder green tea and the mint that grows in my window.  It was surprisingly good, especially on such a cold and windy day.  This recipe, as well as the next, com from the book, Lunch in Paris, by Elizabeth Bard.

The final recipe of the day was for supper, Braised Beef with Red Wine, Garlic and Thyme.  I was a bit disappointed in this for the amount of time spent.  I think it had two ingredients that didn’t work for me, bay leaf and orange zest.  I have concluded that I just generally do not care for bay leaf.  The orange zest just lent a peculiar twang to the dish.  For all that it had to cook for three hours and 40 minutes.

T'was filling

I would only cook this again with a couple of changes.

Meanwhile, during the braising of the beef, I took a moment to run out into th cold and watch the International Space Station go over.  It moves really fast.  Go to spaceweather.com, click on flybys, and see if you will be able to see it in the next two evenings.

~ by susancyclist on February 11, 2012.

4 Responses to “Baby, it’s cold outside”

  1. Omg those baked eggs look FANTASTIC! Yum!!!

  2. That baked egg recipe looks like it turned out a treat. I tried unsuccessfully to make a similar thing recently.
    After seeing yours I’m thinking of trying again 😀

    • Try them! Those have shallots and cremini mushrooms. Ms. Jones recipe calls for, of all things, heavy cream. I use FF half and half which works fine. Make sure you salt and drain the zucchini.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

 
