Another Saturday nite

and I’m sleepy.  For various reasons, I’ve only been getting 5-6 hours of sleep a night and I think it’s catching up with me.

Despite that, I decided I really needed to get outdoors today so I rode my bike for the first time in about three weeks.

I debated whether to go for an a.m. or p.m. ride, with mornings always the preference.  After watching the weather, I decided and headed out at about 8:30 a.m. The forecast said cloudy this morning, but a cold front will be coming through and will bring the sun but dropping temps.

I did a terrible job picking out layers to wear.  Although what I wore would be deemed warm, it wasn’t windproof.  I had forgotten windproof is as important as warm.

I headed out on the world famous llama farm route.  Yes, the llamas were out.  When I sung out, “Hello, Llamas” as I am apt to do, I startled one and he took off running.  I felt kinda bad for that.  Elsewhere I saw two cute little baby goats hopping around their mama.

This may be the only ride I’ve ever done where I tried not to go faster.  This causes wind which leads to cold.

Despite what the weather people said, the sun burst forth at about the half-way point.  I like me some winter sunshine.  But as I was heading home, I could feel the wind picking up out of the northwest.  Brr.

When I got home, I wanted a hot drink.  So I decided to stir some chocolate protein powder into some skim milk and nuke it in the microwave.  Do not try this at home.  All of the powder gathered up in a strange floating island solid lump.  I didn’t drink it.  It was weird.

BTW, I tried a nice simple recipe for supper, peppered steak with a pan sauce from red wine.  Very good stuff.  I also made some roasted sweet potato fries and some grape tomatoes with a vinaigrette.

A good day.

~ by susancyclist on January 28, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
