Not so wintry Saturday

This morning I debated whether to ride or get on the stairmaster.  On the morning news shows they kept on talking about rain today.  Plus the street was wet, so it had rained earlier.  But the temps were very pleasant for January, 51f at 8 a.m.

So I decided to ride, stay close to home and keep it in the hour range.  Got to wear my pretty winter jersey.

That worked well.

It’s funny what you think about while riding.  I no longer ride when it’s really cold.  My hands just cannot tolerate it.  The pain usually starts at the ends of my fingers.  So I thought about nail polish that is insulated or wind resistant.  Do you think there would be a big demand for that? Uh, probably not.

On the food front, I’m doing pretty well.  I’m down about three pounds.  Even if some of that is water, I think that’s decent for a week’s time.  I want to keep it at a healthy rate.

So a meal example.  Dinner tonight was a broiled tilipia filet topped with a mix of olive oil mayo, my own french herb mix, garlic, and lemon; roasted asparagus and couscous.

Today I also modified a Chai hot chocolate recipe to reduce the sugar and made it with skim milk.  Very good stuff.  I have more of that waiting for me in the frig and may have some for bedtime.

The weather forecast is the same for tomorrow, so maybe I can get out again.

~ by susancyclist on January 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
