First hot ride of the year

Boy summer is here. So this evening, I set out to crank a hilly route. After winding through some subdivision streets, I turned right on to the highway. Then about a mile of false flat before turning right on to a country road, a hilly one. Just as before cresting the second hill, here comes a humongous German Shepherd. Fortunately, I carry dog spray on my bars and I’m not afraid to use it. Caught him right between the eyes.

Then more hills, lots of low gears. But I was surprised at how my decent my legs felt at the biggest hill after feeling so crappy earlier.

When I was about a mile and a half from home, I had to stop in a shady spot and cool down for a minute. I haven’t acclimated to the heat yet. When I got home I had to cool down for a bit before I could do my abs.

Good ride, but I really need to start getting up earlier and riding in the morning.

~ by susancyclist on June 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
