Commute aborted

Now that the weather is cool enough to ride to the office without needing a shower by the time I get there, I decided it was time to start commuting again.

The Bianchi (Ole Blue) is mechanically more reliable than the Fuji, so yesterday I swapped over the rack and did some cleaning and lubing. I aired up the tires and rode it up and down the drive. All seemed ready to go.

Or so I thought.

I did not count on the slow leak.

Yep. After getting all ready to go, I head out of the garage only to realize the back tire is flat. I thought I had accounted for that by airing up the tires and checking them later yesterday. Apparently not.

I acknowledge that the tires on this bike are ancient. Probably 5 years old. Since I don’t put big miles on this bike, I have kinda ignored that.

So I’m going to buy new tires. I may run out later today. Or I have to go to Cookeville tomorrow. There is a nice bike shop there. But there is definitely no commute until Wednesday at the soonest.

~ by susancyclist on September 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
