at dawn in august

Heat and injury have kept me off of the bike lately. But I was up before dawn this morning, so I scarfed down my cereal, kitted up, clipped a blinky light on the saddle bag and headed out.

The air is cool enough on my arms that I have a brief thought of arm warmers.

As I ride through residential streets I look at houses to see who has on lights at 5:00 a.m. Then I guess. Kitchen light. Bedroom light.

Some people are already headed to work. But traffic is light enough to semi-ignore traffic signals. I’m cautious, but won’t wait on the lights.

Spots where I usually look for dogs, I ride through undisturbed. Doggies aren’t awake yet.

In the quiet I have to keep reminding myself to pedal harder. Otherwise, I’ll end up drifting along at 10 mph.

It starts to get lighter. The temperature begins it’s slow rise to the usual August misery.

Time to head home and get ready for another work day.

~ by susancyclist on August 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
