Foam roller therapy

Over the weekend I posted about problems I was having with my right hip and knee due to IT band problems. Yesterday the problem reared it’s ugly head and roared. Sitting too long was a problem and stairs were pretty miserable.

So I did some googling, hit some forums and read about foam rollers. So I went out and bought the one from Target. It came with a DVD which I thought might be helpful. It was.

When I got home, I did some more googling and checked out some on site instructions as well as a video on youtube. Then I went to work.

First let me say using this hurts. When you hit a spot that actually needs the work, it hurts a lot. So much so that I didn’t do as much as I might have. But if I had realized what the results would be, I would have gutted out more.

When I got done I ran up the stairs to my bedroom for something, then realized I ran up the stairs. The results were that immediate.

I can tell that the area needs more work. That will happen again this evening.

Also I want to mention that I did the bits for my back and quads too.

The one I bought was the only one available locally and is only 18″ long.  That’s fine for me, but if you are a bigger guy, get a longer one.

Keeper.

~ by susancyclist on June 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
