Quick notes on purchases and plans

Despite the perfect weather (cooler and less humid) I haven’t been able to ride since Sunday.  Four day work weeks often mean cramming 5 days of work into 4.  Plus I have to do the funeral home thing tonight as a 2nd (?) cousin has passed.

In the meantime, I’ve ordered new tires for the Giant, pretty orange Maxxis Courchevels.  They are what I have on now.  I’ve not found a tire that holds up really well for me having been through Michelins, Contis and Maxxis.  So I figured I would stick with what is on there and just swap out the back for now.  I always end up with cuts or gouges on the rear tire.  I suspect that it is more a reflection of some of the roads I ride than the durability of the tires.

Since I’m too thrifty to spring for faster shipping, I won’t have the new ones until next week unless UPS surprises me.  Any suggestions on something to fill in that gouge in the meantime?  I’m thinking put some glue in there and let it dry. 

We have a fun ride planned for the Friday holiday.  “The Train Ride”.  We’ll catch the train into Nashville at dawn and ride back to Lebanon.  We did this a couple of years ago.  But there is much more bike path available to use this time.  And the new section is spectacularly pretty, running along the Cumberland and Stones Rivers.  It’s just a nifty ride to do on a holiday.  I’ll take my camera and hopefully have some shots.

~ by susancyclist on July 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
