Didn’t ride, but I will

The weather has gone from crappy to spectacular.  But I didn’t ride last evening as I continue on with my April chores.

On other fronts, I was invited to take part in the Nashville Scavenger Hunt 2009 (on bike) on Sunday.  But I have a hate for scavenger hunts so I declined.  But they are having a swap meet too, so I may go hit that.  I would like to come up with brakes for the Fuji as the ones on it have no quick release of any kind.  The front doesn’t want to stay adjusted either.  So this leads to a question:

27″ wheels.  Will a brake made for 700s work ok?

~ by susancyclist on April 24, 2009.

One Response to “Didn’t ride, but I will”

  1. In answer to your question, yes they should work. Keyword is “should,” though, as not all types will. A 27″ rim is slightly larger in diameter than a 700c rim (630 vs 622 mm), so reach should not be a problem. However, most modern brakes are built for narrower, lower-profile tires, and clearance may be an issue. If you focus your search on “long reach” road brakes, though, you should do fine. Try to get a chance to hold the brakes up to your bike before you buy, to be sure the mounting hardware is in the right spot.

    And thank you for your kind words on my blog!

Leave a Reply

 
