Monday schmoozing at the LBS

Yesterday I had some time between hearings in Nashville to go by the LBS.  The primary subject was wheels.

First after a chat with Adam about the Fuji front wheel, we’ve decided to just replace it with an inexpensive alloy wheel.  The primary reason is cost.  The hub on the old wheel needs rebuilding, the rims are steel, rather dented and need truing.  So a new wheel is just cheaper.

Meanwhile, the manager says he wants to talk to me.  Last year they moved to a new location and had some staff turnover.  There was a period I wasn’t entirely happy with them and apparently I wasn’t the only one.  I was assured that the bad apples are gone and was asked to talk them up in my part of the world.  I have noted improvements and will help out.  Admittedly, service has improved as has the friendliness factor.

In conjunction with that, I had asked Adam to check my maintenance record on the Giant to see if my rear hub was serviced when I had my last major tuneup.  If it wasn’t, it should have been.  So I’m getting that service comped. 

I also had them order the Salsa bar tape I like.

I’m so spoiled.

~ by susancyclist on February 24, 2009.

4 Responses to “Monday schmoozing at the LBS”

  1. New alloy wheel vs fixing old steel hub/steel rim wheel? No contest, and I’m not surprised you came to the same conclusion.

    I’m glad your LBS is improving their service levels. It pains me to hear of ANY shop that does a bad job at such things.

  2. The comments about service, etc., have me intrigued since I had the same issues with a local shop last year. Now I’m using a new shop that’s opened in my neighborhood — so far, so good.

  3. Thanks, Tom. Adam said the new wheel would be easier to service in the future too.

    Trisha, Halcyon?

  4. Yep, really like them so far. The fact that it’s about half a mile from my house is a big plus too!

Leave a Reply

 
