And we have…

Brakes!

Yes!  The brakes are now functional on the Fuji.  I took them apart, cleaned and lubed.  I think the problem was tightness on the pivot combined with some corrosion.

Normally the next step would be a test ride.  I’d like to double check the lever placement before I wrap the bars, plus I’m sure the rear der and the brakes will need adjusting. But even though I bought this bike to ride in crappy weather, the weather is going beyond the pale on the crappiness scale.  Rain, then snow, then 9F.  That, on top of lack of daylight at day’s end all tend to reduce the chance that any adjustments will happen until the weekend.

I may work on cleaning the chain as it is rather corroded, but probably salvagable.  I also have some touchup paint I bought at the auto parts store, so I may work on any bad spots on the frame.

As my mom used to say, “We’ll see.”

~ by susancyclist on January 13, 2009.

One Response to “And we have…”

  1. Very cool! Glad you found the problem, and that you were able to resolve it. Having functional parts on one’s bike is a Good Thing ™.

Leave a Reply

 
