I hate January!

It’s cold. It’s wet. Blech.

Not much in the way of news last week as I had lots of work and didn’t sleep too well.

A friend and I had planned a ride yesterday, but it was cold and windy so we chatted while trying my inaugural attempt at making up a chicken stew recipe. It came out pretty well by the way.

This morning I had to be in Nashville, so I ran by Cumberland Transit to pick up some new brake cables and a bottle of Tri-Flow. I had a nice chat with the mechanic about what could be my problem and vintage bikes in general. He thinks they are screwed too tight on the pivot bolt. After giving that some thought I think either he is right or there is some corrosion there.

Either way, I’m going to take them completely apart, clean, and lube before reassembling and running the new cable. If I can get the brakes right, I’m on the way to rideable!

~ by susancyclist on January 12, 2009.

One Response to “I hate January!”

  1. On those Dia-compe levers: I still strongly suspect that the thickness of the hoods you have will contra-indicate the “cheater levers.” Leaving the screws loose, even a little bit, could lead to lever failure (lever would fall off at the pivot), which could be a horrendous bad thing.

    If you have eliminated cable sticking and brake pivot bolt sticking as reasons why the brakes won’t release, leave off the cheater levers for a ride and see what happens.

    He is quite possibly right, if you know the lever is not binding. That center-pivot brake assembly is fairly easy to dismantle and reassemble, but remove the spring arms from the brake arms first and reattach them last. Be mindful of where the spring groove sits relative to the bolt. You’ll see what I mean when you take it apart.

Leave a Reply

 
