What I did on New Year’s Day

Naturally I had planned on a New Year’s Day ride. It was beautiful and nary a cloud in the sky. It was also a bit nippy and very windy. I really, really didn’t feel like riding in the wind. I also didn’t want to do the trainer thing.

What’s a girl to do?

Aha! I’ll go hiking!!

I kitted up and headed to Cedar Forest which has several trails.

First I hit the new, but short, trail that is set up for educational purposes with signs that explain the ecosystem (cedar glade) and a few historical things.

Next I hit the Limestone Sinks trail which is also short but nice.

Then I headed over to the Hidden Springs Trail which is the five miler.

Being early winter, everything was brown and gray except for the bright green mosses which seem to thrive on the limestone. The area is rock formations and there are cave systems underneath. When I actually got to the springs, I can see dry limestone creek bed. When I go to openings in it I can hear the water, and lots of it, running underground. I also climbed down to a cave entrance. I didn’t go in as it requires crawling and I didn’t feel like crawling through the mud. All that overhanging rock with drippy icicles is slightly scary.

I only saw one person on the trails all day. It was towards the end of the hike and he was just getting started. We really startled each other.

Animal-wise, I didn’t see much either. Squirrels and birds. I saw deer track, but no deer.

I took quite a few pictures with my little digital and I’ll post the best of them to my flickr account later.

It was a peaceful way to spend the day.

~ by susancyclist on January 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
