On the cold

I had decided to get back into the commuting swing of things this morning despite the cold temperatures.  It was around 27F when I headed out.  I had all the pertinent parts covered up so I thought I would do fine in the chilly temps on my short commute.

I was wrong.

Inside of ten minutes my fingers hurt.  A lot.  By the time I got to the office door, I was in serious pain.  I just parked my bike outside the office door, struggled to get my barbag/purse off the bars, unlock the door and run up the stairs.

I ripped off my three layers of gloves so the warm air could hit.  Then the blood began to flow back into my fingers.  It was similar to having a car door slammed on my fingertips.  Over and over.  I actually had to sit down in the floor.

It’s been three hours now and the fingers are better, but not quite perfect.  This pretty much confirms what I have suspected for years; that I have Reynauds.

So I’m going to do some more reading and see if there is a solution that will allow me to continue riding in the cold short of medication.

~ by susancyclist on December 2, 2008.

4 Responses to “On the cold”

  1. I’ve been struggling with the cold fingers issue also. Not as bad as you though.

    I didn’t ride today (overslept), but that’s probably a good thing. It was in the teens. I’m planning on stopping on the way home to look for some ski gloves.

  2. Let me know what you come up with!

  3. I bought the Whirlibird gloves:
    http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2992808

    I haven’t ridden with them yet, but I’m planning to take a 25-35 mile ride tomorrow.

    I also bought some socks and goggles while I was there. I spent too much money, as usual. 🙂

  4. Just a followup, I rode about four miles last night when the temperature was about 16. I rode about 14 miles today with the temps in the 20s. I was plenty warm.

    My 25-35 mile ride has been postponed until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

 
