Pretty darn cold

I know all of you in more northern climes don’t find the 30sF all that cold.  And I have to say, I handled it pretty well on my ride this morning.  I only had two real issues.  The first was that my fingers got really cold.  I should have used my glove liners.  The second was that my shirt would not stay tucked in, allowing a bit of a breeze to get to my lower back.  I have a spare pair of pants here at the office that I may wear on the ride home.  They are cut a bit higher.

On the non-commuting roadbike front, I have ordered a new saddlebag, a Vincita.  I hate the traditional pointy, wedge-shaped bag.  All the tiny bits get stuffed down in that point.  I can’t ever find whatever I want.  And since my current one fastens with the strap through the saddle rails, it’s a bit of a nuisance to get on and off.  So I ordered one with a quick release that looks roomier, though not aero.  But heck, I’m not aero either.  I’ll report when I get it.

In the meantime, remember to post a supportive comment over at Fatcyclist as times are rough at his house. I know he likes to read those.

~ by susancyclist on October 30, 2008.

2 Responses to “Pretty darn cold”

  1. I’m not sure what part of the country you’re in… but here in Louisville I had a nippy (high-20s) commute into work.

    The only part that got cold was my feet. I was wearing two pair of socks, but apparently I’ll need to change my footwear… and pedals.

  2. I’m a few miles south of you. About 35 miles east of Nashville in Lebanon. We had out first frost yesterday, but I was off-bike. Oddly, my commute shoes are an old pair of boy’s Lakes that I bought for a dollar off of ebay a while back.
    Try some Smartwool socks!!

Leave a Reply

 
