I miss him…

and what I’m doing while he’s gone.

I miss my road bike while it’s on it’s stay in the shop.

So yesterday there was the semi-annual mile long yard sale in a neighboring town.  It has morphed into many miles now.  So I decided to go cruise it (in my truck) and see if I could spot the vintage bike of my dreams.  Alas I did not.  I saw lots of children’s bikes and cruisers.  I also saw one tandem and one work trike.  Cute, but I have no use for them.

Since there was no joy there, I headed to Goodwill to look for cashmere or merino wool suitable for winter riding warmth.  If you have never tried the thrift store for this sort of thing you can score decent sweaters for 5 bucks that would cost quite a bit new and cost even more in the form of a merino jersey.  I scored two men’s sweaters one for $3, one for $6.  I passed on a nice cashmere because of a small hole.  If it gets marked down t0 $3,

I tend to abuse these sweaters and wash them in the washer so they don’t last as long as they would otherwise.  They make a soft warm layer for riding, not to mention warm when you get home after the ride.

This morning I made a grocery run on the Nyala.  He’s a heavy little beast anyway, but with two full grocery panniers full, he weighs a ton.  I also realized that the temperatures are pleasant enough that I didn’t break a sweat.

Happy Sunday.

~ by susancyclist on September 28, 2008.

2 Responses to “I miss him…”

  1. Sorry to hear your bike is in the shop. Great idea about getting warm stuff at Goodwill and other resale places!
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Come again, Peggy. Hope you can score some nice warm wool.

Leave a Reply

 
