Quick A-HA

On the 17th of August I posted about my 8/16 ride and riding along with two young guys on vintage steel.  After a drive to Smithville this morning, as I pulled back into my drive, there sat that beautiful old Trek.  It’s lugged steel painted gold with some classic looking graphics on the down tube.

It turned out that it’s current owner is Ben, the grandson of my neighbors, who was visiting.  He is a student at Tennessee Tech.  He picked up the bike at a yard sale.  He got a heck of a bargain.

I had him bring it over to my garage and showed him how to clean and lube it.  The pretty old Suntour D was rather caked so I suggested he hit it with some degreaser and soap, let it soak a bit and go at it with a toothbrush.  I gave it a general wipe down and lubed the pivots for him.  It was so stiff I was surprised he could shift.

Beautiful old bike.  If he ever wants to sell it, I’ll buy it in a heartbeat.

~ by susancyclist on September 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
