Flat, flat, flat

I headed out for a ride last evening despite it being ridiculously hot.  Legs felt good so I started cranking toward the hills.  Suddenly I felt that disgusting, squishiness in the back wheel.

Yes another flat.  Despite the new tires with kevlar, another flat.

I walked a bit so I would have a shady spot for the change and started to work.  Sweat was pouring.  I found nothing in the tire.

When I got home, I inspected the tube, something I should have done 2 or 3 flats ago.  There is a tiny hole on the inside of the tube about 1-2 inches from the stem.  There are no spokes there, so there must be something in the rim.  I was hot and hungry and had already given the bike a needed bath.  I needed one too, so I reserved wheel inspection for this evening.  I expect that either my rime tape has moved or needs replacing.  But that spot on the rim must have some kind of irregularity as that’s not the first puncture in that area.  Previously I had blamed holes near the stem on myself thinking I had stretched or pulled it when installing the tube.

I’ll find out for sure this evening.

~ by susancyclist on August 5, 2008.

2 Responses to “Flat, flat, flat”

  1. Sounds like a flat caused by rubbing on the inside. Two suggestions;

    1. Use a thicker tube
    @. Use talcum powder or baby powder on the inside of the tire. It has graphite in it which will lubricate the tube and let it slide against the tire and reduce friction.

  2. Thanks. I been through various brands of tubes this summer. I DO KNO(W about using talc, just tend to forget about it.

Leave a Reply

 
