I don’t like some people

I mean really.  I like my cat and my bikes much more than lots of people.

In my apparently never-ending search for a bike suitable for commuting, I found a possibility on Craigslist.  It was an early 70s Schwinn Women’s bike with a rack and a big ole bar bag.  I believe it was one of those Japanese made bikes from that era.  So I emailed the seller and here is her response:

“I will be home after 5:30 pm and the address is XXX Campbell Place in La Vergne.  I have several people interested but will sell to the first person to show who wants it.  Please call me at XXX-XXXX if you have any questions”

You don’t know how tempted I am to leave in her personal information.  By the way, I did respond and say I would be there at 5:30.

So I’m sitting in front of the house at 5:15.  At some point I call the number and leave a message.  It’s obviously a cellphone, so from that point she has my cell number.  They get home at 6:15 and I get out of my truck and start walking over.  Woman jumps out of the vehicle and runs into the house.  Man walks toward me with a puzzled look on his face.  I tell him why I’m there.  He tells me it’s sold.

You should all be proud of me.  I didn’t tell him what I thought of his wife.  I didn’t say anything.  I just turned around and left.

60 mile round trip for nothing.

~ by susancyclist on May 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “I don’t like some people”

  1. Augh, that’s horrible. I’ve been running into that too with getting rid of some of my stuff on Craigslist. It’s like people have done away with common courtesy. I waited half an hour outside of a mall for someone to take my bike rack. They never showed nor did they e-mail me back to say mums about it. Good luck finding your commuter! You’ll find it!

  2. For a while I had great luck with CL, buying & selling. Not so much now.

Leave a Reply

 
