A Sunday ride and Beer Bread

I heard it raining sometime during the night.  When I checked outside this morning, the streets were wet but it wasn’t coming down.  The weather people on TV said scattered showers for the rest of the day.  So I decided to chance it.  Of course I first had to consume lots of coffee and read most of the Sunday paper.

So I set out around 9.  At first my legs felt a little iffy and I hit that stupid headwind.  But then I perked up and picked up some speed.  I rode a loop I often ride then rode a stretch of highway that has a really nice shoulder, is fairly flat and was lots of fun.  I finished off by heading out to the road that’s closed for some nice car free riding.

At one point I reached down for my bottle and felt something slimy.  It was a worm flipped up from the road.  Blech.

With the weather, work, etc., I don’t feel I am getting as many miles in as I should be.  That’s really odd as I’m not planning any centuries or charity rides this year.  I plan on camping in various state parks and COE campgrounds and riding out from there.  I just want to be in shape for whatever I want to do.

BEER BREAD

I made this and it’s so simple.

Ingredients:

3 cups self rising flour

3 tablespoons sugar

1 12 oz bottle of beer

You’ll need a big mixing bowl, a big spoon to stir with and a loaf pan or some similar pan.  Grease the pan and preheat the oven to 350 F.  Mix the first 2 dry ingredients.  Then slowly stir in the beer.  This will be a sticky dough.  Pour it into the pan and make sure it is evenly distributed.  Let it sit for 15-20 minutes.  The dough will rise and expand.  Bake for 50-60 minutes. 

When you take it out, let it sit for a few minutes before taking it out of the pan.  Don’t try to slice it right away!  It will set up if you wait a few.

I want to find a whole wheat self rising flour to try.  I also want to try putting some cheese, onions, etc in it.

This is a good bread if you can’t cook.

~ by susancyclist on March 30, 2008.

2 Responses to “A Sunday ride and Beer Bread”

  1. Hi Susan!

    That bread sounds so easy – and good! I mean – you can’t go wrong with beer! I did find something that says ff you cannot find whole wheat self-rising flour, mix together 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour with 2 1/4 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Worth a try I suppose.

    Tucker says hello, BTW!

  2. Hey TA! Tis good stuff. Y different beers give diffrerent flavors. & Thanks for what to add. I may give that a shot this weekend.

    Hi Tucker!

Leave a Reply

 
