The Ides of March

‘Tis the Ides of March and Caesar has died.

That has nothing to do with anything here. Just wanted to say it.

I was quite determined to ride today. I’ve been as sick as the proverbial dog all week; just looking out the window at the sunshine and warm temps. Of course the forecast for today was rain, storms, etc. But the crud has moved out of my head, but into my chest. But I can breathe at least.

That crud had me awake at about 4:30 this morning, which is OK really. I put on a pot of coffee and stuck my head out the door… no rain. It wouldn’t be light for at least two hours though. So I spent some leisure time drinking coffee and cruising the web. As the sky started to brighten, I dressed for a ride.

Wait! What’s that sound? Yep, thunder. And rain hitting the roof. Well, according to the weatherperson, maybe later today.

>>>>

Finally after lunch the sun peaks out. So I change and head out. Between recovering from the crud and time off of the bike, my legs feel tired really quick. What were little rolling hills a couple of weeks ago are now tiring climbs.

As I turned towards the west, I spotted the next set of storm clouds. Per force this ride will be short. But at least I got one in. It’s pouring rain now.

~ by susancyclist on March 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
