Happy March

The moon and stars aligned at last and I got to ride today.  The sun was shining and the temps were warm enough that I could go with a minimum of layering.  In fact I stopped and change out of my full-fingered gloves to the half ones.  Nice to be able to feel the shifters.

I chose a hilly course and had a lot of fun with it.  There is one hill I am seldom able to finish off, especially this early in the season.  It’s about a 22-23% grade with little chance to gain velocity beforehand.  I didn’t finish it off today.  ;(  But I did conquer 15% with no problems.  So all is good. 

As I headed back home I got an excellent descent down “Microwave Hill,” then pedaled over to the new road they are building so I could ride around a bit without traffic.  Just a good ride.  I averaged 13.1 mph which wasn’t too bad with all the climbing.

The wind wasn’t too bad, though when I topped one hill it hit me in the face and gave me a bit of an ‘ice cream’ headache for a moment.

It’s supposed to get up to 65 tomorrow, so planning another one.

~ by susancyclist on March 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
