On getting home late

I was planning to ride the trainer last night but got home later than usual and was starving.  So I settled down with some hummus and crackers for a bit.  (umm, hummus).  That filled the yawning chasm in my tummy so I changed clothes, popped in Spinervals 1.0 and started pedalling.

1.0 doesn’t have near the production values as the subsequent videos; but provides a pretty good workout.  There was a strange phenomenon though.  He has a fair amount of out of saddle riding in that one.  That always feels weird on the trainer.  For starters, you naturally rock the bike a little out of saddle.  Since I don’t have one of those nifty-sounding rock & roll trainers that rocking all goes into the front end of the bike which makes it wiggle around on the phone books I use under the front wheel. 

Eventually I began to wonder if I had the trainer tightened down on the skewer enough.  This led to paranoia that I would come lose from the trainer and bolt forward into the entertainment center.  Or through the windows I am set up next to.

I have an overactive imagination.

When I checked the clamp on the skewer, it was fine.  I just need more stability under the front wheel.  I may have to spring for a riser.  Or I may look at the scrap wood in my garage.

~ by susancyclist on February 22, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
