On College Cycling and stuff

In the U.S. there are only 12 universities that offer scholarships for competitive cycling.  One of them happens to be local to me, Cumberland University.

Last night they hosted Tour Baby Deux, a movie by Scott Coady, about the 05 Tour de France.  This was a fund raiser for college cycling and the Davis Phinney Foundation.  They also had raffles and silent auctions.

My friend, Meg, and I arrived early enough to have a good look at all the auction stuff.  They has several jerseys and jackets, a couple of helmets, lots of accoutrements, several books, some coaching and rides, and a poster from the movie, signed by several members of the curr, ’08 Team Astana; Contador, Horner, Leipheimer, Ekimov, and director sportif, Bruyneel.

I bid on a couple of things, bought some Jittery Joe’s coffee and a sticker for my truck, and settled in to watch the movie.  To be honest, once you’ve seen what goes on around the TdF, it was been there, seen that.  So the movie, at 97 minutes, seemed rather long.

After the movie they did the raffles.  There were 2 sets of raffle tickets, one for several items for college cycling’s benefit.  One for the Davis Phinney jersey.  Oh, there was also a Tom Danielson jersey.  After several items they went back to the Astana signed poster auction.  Due to the high starting bid, no one had bid.  So they did a live auction.  I threw out a bid, and won. 

Next was the drawing for the Phinney jersey.  Darned if I didn’t win that too. 

In the silent auction, I got 3 huge bags of OScycling endurance and recovery stuff.

So I’ll end with a pic of all my stuff that I took late last night.  I’ll post some other pics to my flickr account later.

swag.jpg

~ by susancyclist on February 5, 2008.

One Response to “On College Cycling and stuff”

  1. […] Rick Karcher wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThere were 2 sets of raffle tickets, one for several items for college cycling’s benefit. One for the Davis Phinney jersey. Oh, there was also a Tom Danielson jersey. After several items they went back to the Astana signed poster … […]

Leave a Reply

 
