On the Trainer

I was wondering.  What does everybody work on while on the trainer?

My cadence is ridiculously slow.  If it were any slower, I would not be moving at all.  When I’m on the road, should my mind wander (look, there’s a zebra*), my cadence will slow down to embarrassing.

So last evening I plopped my rear end in the saddle and tried to maintain a respectable cadence.  At the end I was still at an embarrassing 74 rpm. 

But in the meantime, I had banana bread in the oven which was done.  So I assuaged my guilt with that.

*I actually do see zebra in Tennessee!  I also see llamas and emus.

~ by susancyclist on February 1, 2008.

3 Responses to “On the Trainer”

  1. Rollers are on sale at Performance. Get some inexpensive ones like Minouras and try something new. The rollers push you into smoother and higher cadence methinks.

  2. Steve, I’ve been thinking about rollers. You’re obviously psychic.

  3. I’ve tried rollers and they take too much concetration. If I get distracted I’m splayed out in no time. Try watching action tv or playing high energy dance music while spinning. I usually hang in around 85 for cadence if I have one of those elements. Chase scenes on tv are especially effective.

Leave a Reply

 
